Skip to content

DABDA

August 10, 2010

When I was an undergrad at Susquehanna I took a class called “End of Life Issues.” During this course each student was paired with a person who was nearing the end of their life.  I had Dotty who was in her 90s and I often wondered if she knew why I was there.

The class was filled with students who were pre-seminary or who had lost loved ones.  Others were going to be funeral home directors or were pre-med.   It was during this class that I memorized Elizabeth Kubler Ross’ stages of grief, which I nicknamed DABDA:  Denial. Anger. Bargaining. Depression. Acceptance.

For the last few days I have been floating back and forth between these, never quite making it to that last A.

I have often spoken about the size of my home congregation.  We are a family church.  A lay-led Fellowship.  We have no minister and we are kept alive by a few families who make up a larger chosen family.  It is challenging and beautiful.  It is faith-bound and illustrative of who and why I am.

As a child and youth, I was the only Unitarian Universalist in my school.  At church, there were no other kids in the religious education classes except me and Austin.  Austin True Comando.  That’s right, True Comando.  (His mom’s last name is True and his dad’s last name is Comando — perfect).  Austin is a year younger than me and there is not a moment of my church upbringing that I remember without him.  There is not a moment of my Coming of Age – in its different forms – that I  remember without him.

When I began dating my first ‘serious’ boyfriend in high school (a boy from another school – the school Austin went to), Austin acted like a brother.  He didn’t give the okay at first but eventually came around, happily.  I waited a year to go through the UU Coming of Age program so we could do it together, making me the oldest of the group even though I looked to Austin who was one of the youngest.  When we were kids I remember Austin chasing me around his house with his Insulin needles, telling me it didn’t hurt a bit.  I watched as a injected himself and listened as he explained his Diabetes.  As we got older I grew to accept but never like his girlfriends.  He was the first of my peers to tell me that my call to ministry made complete sense and that I’d be good at it.  The summer before I left for college we tried going on a few dates, but our love for one another was hardly sexual.  I think at that age we didn’t understand how we could love one another deeply, how to be partners and keep the other in our life without it being sexual.  And this … whether it be embarrassment or disappointment or just confusion, took us some time to move past and back to friends.

But we did, though not as it was since we were now both in college and states away.  Then seminary and different relationships and new families of friends being built.  Still though, holidays brought both of us home and to church and those moments catching up in the pews, or first seeing one another with such sincere joy, erased the time we had been a part.

I do not romanticize this relationship.  Austin was my brother and friend.  He was my chosen family and my given family.

On Saturday Austin had a stroke or heart attack (still unknown officially, but due to his diabetes) while driving.  He accelerated and swerved into on coming traffic, hitting a car head on.  Austin was dead at the scene.  He was 24.  He was the first to tell me my call to ministry made sense; he was excited for me.  And on Friday I will help lead his memorial service.

Denial is a strong, powerful and at times saving emotion.  Anger, the same.  I do not know what I can bargain with, or to whom.  But it is in these stages of grief that I rest for now.

Your prayers are welcomed.

Peace to each of us.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Christine permalink
    August 10, 2010 12:39 am

    beautiful- thanks for sharing 🙂

  2. August 10, 2010 4:27 pm

    Oh Kimmy. I’m so, so sorry. Such bad luck with friends and cars… my prayers are a mountain for you, and here’s my heart to clasp yours. ❤

    I'm here if you need me.

  3. Katie permalink
    August 11, 2010 8:25 pm

    Hi Kim. I’m so sorry. I will keep you in my thoughts and in my prayers.

    What I believe is that every end is a new beginning, and maybe this new beginning for him will be even more wonderful than anything he has ever known before.

    We miss you.

  4. Nanette True permalink
    August 12, 2010 8:33 am

    Kim, I have just read your blog and I am deeply touched by your history with Austin. You grew up together, physically and spiritually. I am so glad that he supported your calling to ministry. you are gifted and giving and I will always hold you in my heart with great love. I too am filled with grief and joy for knowing such a fine human being.much love, Nanette

  5. August 12, 2010 10:14 am

    Dear Kim,
    I remember you and Austin as the future of that congregation, and as the wonderful teenagers that you were. As a mother, watching you and Austin gave me hope that if I modeled my own mothering after that of Nanette and your own mother, that one day Eden and Harrison would be like the two of you. I am so sorry for your loss.
    Desiree O’Clair

  6. Mike permalink
    January 5, 2011 9:01 pm

    Kim,

    I just got around to reading your piece here and my condolences go out to you and Austin’s family. I was struck by the honesty of your writing. I knew Austin as a camper and then as a 1st Year CIT at Camp Joslin. To be honest, I wasn’t too sure about Austin at first, he was strong, very confident for a young diabetic. Perhaps it was something I lacked, something I was looking for in myself that I was jealous to see in others. Diabetes is an illness no one can see, constantly affecting you and everyone at Joslin knew they were surrounded by fellow diabetics. It was truly an amazing sense of community. Knowing his time was cut so short, I feel honored to have worked, played and educate young diabetics with him. It sounds like you and Austin shared this community, long before I knew him in Charleston, MA. Thank you for sharing this piece, its so honest and so candid.

  7. eric teixeira permalink
    February 9, 2011 4:22 pm

    Thank you for posting this.
    I met Austin in the summer of ’07 as we studied for the series 7 under Ameriprise Financial. He passed first and kept giving me the motivation to try again. And again. When I moved down the perverbial financial road with another company, I made sure I kept Austin’s number. I will never forget our first beer at City Steam with the other reps one Monday evening after a phoning session. Had always hoped to once again share a cold pint and revisit the business plan we had when we first started….Cheers forever my friend. – Tex

Trackbacks

  1. Giving Thanks « CampUUsMinister's Blog

Leave a comment